Sigh…

Well… this typifies my week thus far… wrote my blog in another format and can’t cut and paste into this one. DRAT, I say DRATDRATDRAT! I know more than one other person that is having an emotionally draining week… this is just one more effort crashing that will turn out to be just as it should have been… in this case, rewriting the blog entry. So, enough bitching about this very moment… and on to bitching about the rest of the week… ready?

It’s not that bad, really. Just had a pack of dogs attack me and my first collage totally ruined… Oh! and the rainy season that wasn’t rainy enough – yet – to warrant no interruptions in service. And lastly, bugs. Literally: the bugs are really bugging me. HA! Just have to roll with it cuz they were here first and they are not going away.

Okay, the dog attack… was the second occurrence of these pesky rascals, old as the hills, gray whiskers quivering in rage, attempting to denude my legs of their ankles. Yes, antiquarian angst in the dog family. This pack guards a crook in the road right down the street. When the leader is awake you know it cuz you can hear him crooning his particularly arrogant tune throughout the hillside. A beagle. An old, entitled, beagle who must feel terribly beleaguered with those of us who insist he share the road in front of his property. He and his five friends. Another three of whom are equally age-challenged, but totally willing to back up their friend’s claim to the road. Jeesh. If you can imagine this, and I’m sure you can, a 5′ woman with gray hair  facing down a pack of dogs intent on intimidation, screaming at the top of her lungs … NO! (dammit, I simply won’t have it!) in harridean volume for approximately two minutes. Both sides gratefully backing down and turning away in disgust with one another. Until next time….

Then the collage. My first since moving here, meant to reflect my whimsical adventures through paradise. It began as a childlike ode to primary colors and nature. Ended up a bit edgy cuz I screwed up on the last layer and had to scrape off errant purple pieces of paper, not all of which wanted to comply. So be it, I said sulkingly, and put it in the corner. Well, at least it was facing out into the room instead of having it’s back to me… when I took another look at it an hour later I realized it wasn’t actually ‘broken,’ but had morphed into what might be a much more adultly realized reflection of my experiences here, which haven’t all been rosily romanticized. So, there’s an edgyness to the piece and something I can live with, since it’s for me, about me. It’s the truth of the matter… there are some experiences that haven’t been the best and I wish I’d been able to scrape off my palette, but couldn’t.

Probably enough information for a blog at this point. Now, if I can just get my camera to work, I’ll post a pic of the collage….

Leave a Reply

