Birthdays and Facebook Fatigue…

bbqbigpicLook at all those smiles… we had a marvelous birthday celebration for everyone in the family who had a birthday in July… I’m one! Here are two of the others… Laura, my daughter in law, and Alejandra who is married to Laura’s brother.

bbqcakeThe family came to my house for a barbeque. The weather held up, there was lots of good food, the kids running around having fun, and I felt a smile throughout my body as the day went on. It’s a wonderful way to celebrate with such a large group. As the kids get older maybe we’ll see some futbol out on the front lawn…. hope hope hope. It was so weird watching the US vs Costa Rica last night on tv… I’m just getting into futbol and really enjoying it.. the time just flies by… it reminds me of a game of chess, except in motion.

Before the party, my granddaughter Lorelei came over and we made cookies.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERASuch a cute cookie… both of them! HA!! And so photogenic… Here’s another shot of the decorated goodies

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAMany were ‘left over’ at my house and I am sorry to report that they are now banashed into the gut of a newly 63 year old!! Loved every single bite.. but the party’s over, it’s time to go through sugar withdrawal and welcome the next 30 lb loss, while I learn the rules of futbol to replace my Facebook addiction.

Yes, sorry to say I now have too many friends on Facebook to leave it to an hour to peruse all the new posts… jeesh, too much of a good thing? Or time to cull the list of those who mysteriously have appeared as friends whom I’ve never heard of…

4 responses »

    • Gracias por la cálida bienvenida a su familia, y para que mi nuevo amigo. Usted me ha enseñado que la familia es un lugar de amor para vivir. Yo también te quiero.

  1. I for one am one of the faceless facebook people who are now your “friend”. My wife and I just moved to Grecia in June and it has been great becoming acquainted with so many people online prior to our arrival, the help we received was great – some have even become in-the-flesh friends. Glad I found your blog too. Happy belated birthday!

    • Thank you for your birthday greetings and for joining the happiness found here in Costa Rica…. and my blog!! Facebook is an incredible avenue for information and I’m happy we’re sharing in that venue as well. Take care, Greg, and thanks for the note! It’s always great to get a comment…

Leave a Reply

