Family, New Art, and Santa Ana…

It’s been a while since I’ve posted anything… I’ve been really busy settling into a new kind of routine that’s pretty seamlessly suiting me now… being a grandma and hanging out within a ‘normal’ family setting. Evangeline, the youngest, is now 8 months and beginning to talk – LOUDLY. Lorelei is now 9 and continues to evolve, remaining as ever the princess she was born to be.

My girls - lovelovelove!

My girls – lovelovelove!

As you can see, I’m enjoying every moment with them both – Lorelei is the photographer here.

I'm a happy grandma!

I’m a happy grandma!

All manner of nature attempts to join me here at my desk. I think the hummingbirds and maybe the other types think that the chirping of the keyboard is an invitation?

My desk where the hummingbirds and butterflies try and join me.

My desk where the hummingbirds and butterflies try and join me.

When I’m not enjoying myself at the kids’ house, I find myself incredibly bored and lonely at home now… this is an incredible change from the rest of my life when being by myself was the favored ‘state of being.’ Well, not anymore. So, now I’m concentrating on creating art and have come up with a grand idea of making Art Coasters! I’m pretty excited about this. My landlady, Laurel’s Originals, invited me to go with her to a local and outstanding Arts & Crafts Show next month, so I’m busily creating miscellaneous sets of 4 coasters to sell at $4/set. If you’re interested in getting some for Christmas stocking stuffers, send me a comment to this post and we’ll make arrangements to mail them out to you.

Art Coasters, cut outs from large art pieces

Art Coasters, cut outs from large art pieces

And I’m doing other art pieces as well, selling each poster-sized piece for $30.

Poster-sized purple, turquoise and red

Poster-sized purple, turquoise and red

Fun at the beach!

Fun at the beach!

My son said this one 'looks like alot of fun'

My son said this one ‘looks like alot of fun’

You’ll like this story about going to a Party… There is a group here called internations.org that has different group gatherings – some business roundtables, or out and about dancing or sightseeing or simply partying.  It’s purpose is to get expats from around the world that live in the Central Valley of Costa Rica acquainted. Recently there was a 6-year Anniversary Party held on the other side of the Valley from where I live. It’s an incredible venture for me to get over there on the bus. I can see the location from my patio and if I could fly it’d not only be awesome, but would save me 3 hours and 3 bus rides and a taxi to get there. Needless to say, I’ve never gone although I’d like to because it’s an all day maneuver, not to mention I’d have to spend the night over there as traveling back home on the bus at 10pm is not advisable for a woman alone, especially one who is obviously a gringa and an elder at that. BUT… this party looked like fun and I decided to give it a try. I found a hotel that had been recommended by a friend in nearby Santa Ana – Hotel Luisiana. The rates are incredible!  ($35ish a night) And I was gobsmacked upon arrival to realize how incredibly nice this place was. High End! They do require that you make a deposit either using a credit card or in cash of $100 that is refunded upon checking the room prior to departure.  Reasons why include checking to determine if you’ve partaken of the wine, beer or other beverages provided in the room, or to check for any damage, I guess. Must point out that the customer service was extraordinary. I’d had an ‘iffy’ stomach for a couple of days and mentioned to the waiter that I’d like some Ginger Ale with dinner, but it wasn’t on the menu. He offered to go to the store for me! The next morning when seated for breakfast by another gentleman, I was asked how my stomach was doing… marvelous! But, okay, here’s the story about the party, finally…

Hotel Luisiana Pool, Santa Ana Costa Rica

Hotel Luisiana Pool, Santa Ana Costa Rica

Hotel Luisiana Restaurant, Santa Ana Costa Rica

Hotel Luisiana Restaurant, Santa Ana Costa Rica

Hotel Luisiana Typical Bath, Santa Ana Costa Rica

Hotel Luisiana Typical Bath, Santa Ana Costa Rica

Hotel Luisiana, Santa Ana Costa Rica

Hotel Luisiana, Santa Ana Costa Rica

I’d packed my only ‘dress-up’ outfit so that I’d fit in to the ambiance generated for this event. It was being held in Escazu – an adjacent city to Santa Ana – where the expectation is that you will be cheek and jowl with those individuals who not only enjoy the high life, but don’t enter into the Tico areas too much. This is an expat gathering/group after all. Escazu is known here in Costa Rica as the Rodeo Drive of the country, at least in an urban setting. For the other Rodeo Drive at the beach, look up Tamarindo. Both places have sections that look and feel like Europe or the US fancy places. But, that’s an aside… As it became time to dress for the party I realized I’d brought everything but dress shoes…….’ crapola to the max, I said to myself… I really didn’t want to go to this party after all.’ So I just crawled into a bed with Egyptian sheets and a pillow top mattress and enjoyed a mini vacation instead.  What a life, huh?

3 responses »

    • Thanks, Lori! Love the exclamation points!! Yes, please send me your address and I’ll drop two sets in the mail to you next week — I’m off on a Visa Run later this week and through the weekend.. that’s my next post!!

Leave a Reply

